cWIDR Member Faculty

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z


AndrioleGGerald L. Andriole, M.D.
Professor of Surgery and Chief, Division of Urologic Surgery
andrioleg@wustl.edu

Urologic oncology, genitourinary oncology, prostate cancer and urologic surgery.
Profile


 AtkinsonJJohn P. Atkinson, M.D.
Samuel Grant Professor of Medicine; Chief, Division of Rheumatology; Professor of Molecular Microbiology
jatkinso@wustl.edu

Structural, functional and translational aspects of complement system receptors and regulatory proteins.
Profile, DBBS Profile


BaranskiTThomas J. Baranski, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine and Molecular Biology and Pharmacology
baranski@wustl.edu

Signal transduction mechanisms mediated by hormone receptors and G proteins.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


NO_imagejpgWandy L. Beatty, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor of Molecular Microbiology, Molecular Microbiology Imaging Facility Director
beatty@wustl.edu

Analysis of host-pathogen interactions in Chlamydia-infected cells.
Profile, Imaging Facility


BeverleySStephen M. Beverley, Ph.D.
Marvin A. Brennecke Professor and Head, Molecular Microbiology
stephen.beverley@wustl.edu

Microbial pathogenesis and molecular genetics of parasitic protozoa.
Profile, DBBS Profile


Michael G. Caparon, Jr., Ph.D.
Center Associate Director
Professor of Molecular Microbiology
caparon@wustl.edu

Genetics and virulence of the pathogenic streptococci.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


CottlerLLinda B. Cottler, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Adjunct Professor in Psychiatry
cottler@epi.wustl.edu

Comorbidity of addition with disorders such as HIV and STDs, and peer-delivered interventions for women to reduce high risk behaviors associated with substance abuse.
Profile


DoeringTTamara L. Doering, M.D., Ph.D.
Alumni Endowed Professor of Molecular Microbiology
doering@wustl.edu

Fundamental biology and host interactions of the pathogenic fungus Cryptococcus neoformans, which causes serious opportunistic infections in immunocompromised individuals.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab website


EllenbergerTTom Ellenberger, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
tome@wustl.edu

Therapeutic development and structural biology related to infectious diseases; molecular structures and cellular functions of proteins that replicate DNA, repair chemical damage, and regulate chromatin structure.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


FraserVVictoria Fraser, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Chair, Department of Medicine
vfraser@wustl.edu

Study of healthcare epidemiology of hospital acquired infections, specifically surgical site infections, blood stream infections and ventilator-associated pneumonia.
Profile, Focus Article


FrenchAAnthony R. French, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics (Rheumatology), Pathology & Immunology, and Biomedical Engineering
french_a@wustl.edu

Understanding gender differences in susceptibility to systemic viral infections.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


GoldbergDDaniel E. Goldberg, M.D., Ph.D.
David M. & Paula L. Kipnis Distinguished Professor of Medicine and Molecular Microbiology & Co-Director, Division of Infectious Diseases, Research Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases

Biochemistry and cell biology of Plasmodium falciparum, a protozoan parasite that causes malaria.
Profile, HHMI Profile, DBBS Profile


GordonJJeffrey I. Gordon, M.D.
Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished University Professor, Director Center for Genome Sciences
jgordon@wustl.edu

Human microbiome, genomic and metabolic foundations of symbiotic host-microbial relationships in the mammalian gut
DBBS Profile, Lab Website


GronowskiAAnn M. Gronowski, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology & Immunology
gronowski@wustl.edu

Laboratory diagnostics of endocrinology and reproductive physiology with emphasis on maternal-fetal medicine.
Profile


HayesEEricka V. Hayes, M.D.
Associate Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases)
hayes_e@wustl.edu

Antiretroviral therapy and nutrition in infants with HIV in Sub-Saharan Africa, clinical HIV management and prevention in children and teens.
Profile


Jeffrey P. Henderson, M.D., Ph.D.
Center Core Investigator
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases
hendersonj@wustl.edu

In vitro, in vivo, and patient oriented studies of the interface between hosts and bacterial pathogens with an emphasis on urinary tract diseases and mass spectrometric analysis.
Profile, DBBS Profile


DennisHourcadeDennis E. Hourcade, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Medicine
dhourcad@wustl.edu

Innate recognition and clearance of harmful microbial and cellular targets, especially those mediated by the complement system.
Profile


Scott J. Hultgren, Ph.D.Scott J. Hultgren, Ph.D.
Center Director
Helen L. Stoever Professor Molecular Microbiology
hultgren@wustl.edu

Pathogenesis of diseases of the urinary tract, structure and function of pilus and amyloid fiber formation in bacteria.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


HunstadDDavid A. Hunstad, M.D.

Division Chief, Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Associate Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases) and Molecular Microbiology
dhunstad@wustl.edu

Pathogenesis of gram negative bacterial infections, primarily E.coli urinary tract infections.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


jim-janetkaJim Janetka, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
janetkaj@wustl.edu

The rational structure-based ligand design and synthesis of chemical tools useful for studying cancer and infectious disease.
Profile, Lab Website


kau-100x120Andrew L. Kau, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Allergy/Immunology) Center Core Investigator
akau@wustl.edu

The role of the microbiota in predisposing women and men to allergic diseases like asthma, eczema and food allergy.
Lab Website


 

KleinRRobyn S. Klein, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases)
rklein@wustl.edu

Molecular basis of central nervous system immune activation, myelin repair, and axonal injury in multiple sclerosis; discovery of novel viruses associated with multiple sclerosis.
Profile, DBBS Profile


LenschowDDeborah J. Lenschow, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine (Rheumatology)
dlenscho@wustl.edu

Function of type I interferon stimulated genes during viral infection and in the pathogenesis of autoimmune diseases.
Profile, DBBS Profile


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Amanda L. Lewis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Molecular Microbiology
Center Core Investigator
allewis@wustl.edu

Sialic acid metabolism in commensal and pathogenic host-microbe interactions involved in preterm birth, bacterial vaginosis (BV), and genitourinary infections.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


MaLLiang Ma, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine (Dermatology)
lima@wustl.edu

Understanding genetic pathways regulating epithelial differentiation in the female reproductive tract.
Profile, DBBS Profile


MaconesGGeorge A. Macones, M.D., M.S.C.E.
Mitchell and Elaine Yanow Professor and Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology
maconesg@wustl.edu

Prediction and prevention of preterm birth, pregnancy issues including labor induction and vaginal birth after cesarean.
Profile, Research Profile


MarschallJJonas Marschall, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medicine (Infectious Diseases)
jmarscha@wustl.edu

Relation between E.coli urinary tract infection and bacteremia.
Profile


MillerMMark J. Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
miller23@wustl.edu

Studying host responses to bacterial infection in vivo with cutting-edge imaging technology.
Profile, DBBS Profile


MoleyKKelle H. Moley, M.D.
James P. Crane Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Vice Chair of Basic Science Research and Director, Basic Research Division
moleyk@wustl.edu

Preimplantation mammalian embryo development, the effects of maternal hyperglycemia and hyperinsulinemia on glucose transporter and blastocyst survival, gamete biology.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


MysorekarIIndira U. Mysorekar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, and Pathology & Immunology, Associate Director, Center for Reproductive Health Sciences
imysorekar@wustl.edu

Mechanisms of mammalian urinary bladder development, regeneration following infection and injury, bladder cancer.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


PowderlyWilliam G. Powderly, M.D.
Director, Institute for Public Health
J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine
Co-Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine
wpowderl@wustl.edu

Acquisition & progression of infections in women infected with HIV
Profile


RileyJJoan K. Riley, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
rileyj@wustl.edu

Uterine immune cell activation important for proper placental development.
Profile


SayukGGregory S. Sayuk, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology
sayuk@wustl.edu

Irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and related functional GI disorders.
Profile


SibleyDL. David Sibley, Ph.D.
Alan A. And Edith L. Wolf Distinguished Professor of Molecular Microbiology
sibley@wustl.edu

Virulence of the intracellular parasite Toxoplasma gondii; cellular and molecular basis of motility and host cell invasion by protozoan parasites.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


StorchGGregory Storch, M.D.
Ruth L. Siteman Professor of Pediatrics, Professor, Medicine and Molecular Microbiology, Chief, Division of Pediatric laboratory Medicine, Medical Director, Clinical Laboratories, St. Louis Children’s Hospital
storch@wustl.edu

Clinical pediatric infectious diseases, infections in immunocompromised patients/HIV research, molecular diagnosis of viral infections.
Profile


TarrPPhillip I. Tarr, M.D.
Melvin E. Carnahan Professor of Pediatrics and Molecular Microbiology, Director Division of Gastroenterology and Nutrition
tarr@wustl.edu

Microbiology of the gut in health and disease.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


ToliaNNiraj H. Tolia, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Molecular Microbiology and Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
tolia@wustl.edu

Structural biology and biochemistry of erythrocyte invasion by Plasmodium parasites, the etiologic agents of malaria.
Profile, DBBS Profile, Lab Website


VirginSHerbert W. Virgin IV, M.D., Ph.D.
Edward Mallinckrodt Professor and Chairman, Pathology and Immunology
virgin@wustl.edu

The pathogenesis and immunologyof viral, parasitic and bacterial infection with a special emphasis on chronic infection and the search for new pathogens.
Profile, DBBS Profile